Superintendent of the Year Nominations

Annually, the North Carolina Association of School Administrators (NCASA) and the North Carolina School Boards Association (NCSBA) participate jointly in a process that results in the naming of the A. Craig Phillips North Carolina Superintendent of the Year, who then becomes North Carolina’s nominee for the 2013 AASA Superintendent of the Year.  This year, each of the eight RESAs in the state has been asked to name a regional Superintendent of the Year.  Unlike in past years, only these regional Superintendents of the Year will be considered for selection as the State Superintendent of the Year.

This is an opportunity to recognize and honor superintendents for the leadership that they provide and contributions that they make to their districts.  It is an honor that should not be taken lightly.  We’re proud that so many of our State Superintendents of the Year have become national finalists.  In fact, last year North Carolina’s Superintendent of the Year, Diane Frost (Asheboro), was one of four national finalists.  The Superintendent of the Year award is also significant because this superintendent will serve for one year as an advisor to the State Board of Education.

We ask school boards and public information officers to publicize this opportunity to their school communities and the general public and to give consideration to nominating their superintendent for this honor.  In addition, superintendents may nominate themselves.

Click here for a description of the process.

Please complete the Nomination Form and return to the CCRESA by June 8th.  Please note that in addition to completing the nomination form, a letter to support the nomination must be submitted.

Thank you for assisting us in making this an open and meaningful process.  Feel free to contact the CCRESA if you have any questions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.